Serving Kenly, Selma, Smithfield, Princeton & Pine Level since 1973

Johnston school system shuffles leadership posts

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


SMITHFIELD — Two members of the Johnston County Public Schools superintendent’s cabinet will have new duties effective July 1.

Chief of Staff Delores Gill will become chief of staff and communication and the JCPS media contact. Chief of Communication and Engagement Crystal Roberts, the current media contact, will become chief of equity, information and student services.

“I will continue to work with my other duties but look forward to serving the needs of the district in any capacity I am asked,” said Gill.

“I am exited about this new opportunity to ensure our district’s commitment to equity is demonstrated,” said Roberts. “I will take the lead in ensuring that an equity plan is developed, presented and executed. This is an opportunity that I was happy to accept when it was presented, as I have served as the lead on our ongoing cultural proficiency initiative that began two years ago when I started these duties.”

Before becoming chief of staff, Gill was the central office’s elementary area supervisor. Roberts has served in her current role since May 2017 and also owns Mountaintop Productions in Smithfield.

In other personnel assignments announced June 11, school principals signing two-year contracts are: Brandon Garland, site administrator, Choice Plans; Larkeysha Sheppard, McGee’s Crossroads Middle School; William Weaver, South Johnston High; and Anthony Whitaker, Four Oaks Middle School.

Assistant principals signing two-year contracts are: Susan Jones, Powhatan Elementary; Pamela Routhier, Benson Middle; and Elizabeth Tanner, Corinth Holders Elementary School.

Employees signing two-year contracts at the central office are: Dee Edmundson, executive director of equity; and David Pearce and Ben Williams, both administrative officers.

Assistant principal transfers, effective July 1, are: Michelle Deyo, Benson Elementary to Smithfield Middle; Chris Germanoski, McGee’s Crossroads Middle to Corinth Holders High; Timberly Harrington, Cleveland High to Clayton Middle; Chad Holloman, Riverwood Middle to North Johnston High; Don Lee, Meadow Elementary to South Johnston High; Beverly Moore, Smithfield-Selma High to Meadow Elementary; Terry Reason, Corinth Holders Elementary to McGee’s Crossroads Elementary; Sandra Robertson, Clayton Middle to Cleveland High; Shannon Sellers, Corinth Holders High to North Johnston High; Michelle Swartz, North Johnston High to Corinth Holders High; and Eric Waters, North Johnston High to Riverwood Middle School.

Administrative transfers effective July 1 are: Amanda Allen, director of social and emotional learning to executive director of social and emotional learning; John Bell, operations director to assistant principal, Innovation Academy; David Cobb, operations director to assistant principal, Princeton Middle/High; Dorlisa Johnson-Cowart, principal, McGee’s Crossroads Middle to executive director of middle curriculum; Junior Creech, operations director to assistant principal, Smithfield-Selma High; Brayton Leonhardt. operations director to assistant principal, Benson Elementary; and Suzanne Mitchell, administrative officer to curriculum, instruction and accountability officer.

Administrative interns signing one-year contracts are: Malia Blake, McGee’s Crossroads Middle; Michelle Butler, Corinth Holders Elementary; Sarah Cowell, Benson Elementary; Jeffrey Henry, Benson Middle; Mandy Huber, Smithfield-Selma High; Nicole McKenna, West Smithfield Elementary; Jeanette Neyman, Princeton Middle/High; Allison Price, Cooper Elementary; and Beth Rhyne, Smithfield Elementary School.