Serving Kenly, Selma, Smithfield, Princeton & Pine Level since 1973

All-GNRC indoor track

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


For the winter indoor track season, Cleveland captured a pair of Greater Neuse River Conference titles to land atop the standings. 

In the girls standings, the Rams edged out Clayton for the conference title. West Johnston took third, followed by East Wake and South Johnston. Smithfield-Selma did not have enough participants to qualify for a team score.

In boys, Clayton took second, followed by West Johnston, South Johnston, East Wake and Smithfield-Selma.

In recognition of the Rams’ top performances, Zachary Clark was named Boys Player of the Year. In girls, West Johnston’s Hayley Whoolery took the top honor after leading her Wildcats to a third-place showing. 

Following behind the top performers, Cleveland head coach Thomas Coughlin was named Boys Coach of the Year, while West Johnston’s Jacob Wood was named Girls Coach of the Year.

The other all-conference performers were recognized as champions in their event.


Clayton’s Ariana Daley sped through the 300-meter dash, while teammate Christian Van Narden performed the best in the shot put. The Comets’ Chandler Coughlin took home the 1000-meter run, later finishing first in the 3200-meter run. 

From Cleveland, Lora Dillon won the triple jump; Julia McKissick won the 55-meter dash; Oliva Bondurant performed well in the pole vault; Sarah Prosser ran her way to first in the 500-meter dash. McKissick leapt her way through the 55-meter hurdles and Mason Porter won both the high jump and long jump.

A 4-200 meter relay team of McKissick, Pirya Murray, Nyla McAbee and Porter also earned another victory for Cleveland. 

The team of Whoolery, Courtney Christ, Caroline Hamrick and Paige Sutherland earned West Johnston a victory in the 4x800 meter relay. Hamrick also won the 1600-meter run.

Other performers who earned a spot on the all-conference team were Clayton’s Vinesha Briggs; Cleveland’s Trinity Holder; Smithfield-selma’s Tyiesha Deans; South Johnston’s Skyler Eltz; West Johnston’s Victoria Schwunt; East Wake’s Kayla McKnight.

The sportsmanship award was given to Kendall London of Clayton; Noel Bounsanga of Cleveland; Tomia Sowell-Jackson of East Wake; Smithfield-Selma’s Rayonna Allen; South Johnston’s Zoe Hoffman; West Johnston’s Courtney Christ. 


Jacquez Durham began what was a good day for Cleveland with a win in the 300-meter dash. Teammate Trey Robinson followed in shot put, while Durham and Siheed Hargrove tied in the 55-meter dash to add to the Rams’ contributions.

For Cleveland, Antonia Medrano finished first in the pole vault; Josh McCoy won the 500-meter dash and the 4x800 meter relay team of Blake Andrews, Zachary Clark, Brandon Lopez and Josh McCoy blazed past the competition.

Clark won the 1000-meter run and 1600-meter run, then powered his way to the finish line first in the 3200-meter run. Kyzaiah Stone won the long jump for Cleveland, while the 4x200 meter relay team of Leron Sparks, Stone, Hargrove and Durham wrapped up a stellar performance for the Rams.

Troy Fisher stood out for Clayton in the long jump, while a foursome of Comets, Josiah Williams, Josh Diaz, Austin Robinson and Jonathan Escobar won the 4x400 meter relay.

Other all-conference performers were: Johnquavias Jones from Clayton; Jashawn Middleton from Cleveland; Alex Topoly from Smithfield-Selma; Dawson Weaver from South JOhnston; Josh Hendren from West Johnston and Josiyah Woods from East Wake. 

Auston Robinson from Clayton; J’Vin Farmer from Cleveland; Larry Johnston from East Wake, Ralph Viario from Smithfield-Selma; Michael Peedin from South Johnston and Caleb Stewart from West Johnston were honored for their sportsmanship.