Serving Kenly, Selma, Smithfield, Princeton & Pine Level since 1973

Candidates line up to file

Selma’s Mayor Oliver is first to submit paperwork

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


SMITHFIELD — Thirteen candidates registered at the Johnston County Board of Elections office on the first day of filing for the Nov. 5 municipal elections.

The first to register when the filing period began at noon was four-term incumbent Selma Mayor Cheryl Oliver. Oliver was first elected in 2012. Before that, she served as a Selma town councilwoman. She is retired.

Also filing Friday was challenger James L. Purvis III, who is seeking an Archer Lodge Town Council seat. Purvis is retired. There are three council seats up for re-election held by incumbents Clyde Castleberry, Mark Jackson and Hearbert Locklear.

Stephen Rabil is seeking a second term as councilman-at-large on the Smithfield Town Council. He was first elected in 2015. He is vice president of Rabil, Inc. There are two other seats up for re-election held by incumbents Emery Ashley, who’s not seeking re-election, and John A. Dunn.

Former councilman William Overby filed for the Selma mayoral race. This will be his third campaign against Oliver. He also ran unsuccessfully against former Mayor Charles Hester. He is retired.

Roger Diegele, a challenger, filed for a seat on the Selma Town Council. He is retired. Two council seats are up for grabs, held by incumbents Tommy Holmes and Mark Petersen. The top two vote-getters in this race will win a seat.

Carles Surgles Sr. filed for re-election to the Four Oaks Board of Commissioners. He works in solid waste for Johnston County government. There are two other commission seats on the ballot, held by incumbents Vic Medlin and Andy Hardy.

Jimmy Garner filed for his ninth term on the Pine Level Board of Commissioners. He’s the owner of Jimmy’s Towing in Pine Level. Karen Anderson, Greg Baker and Phil Pittman are also up for re-election.

Pittman filed after Garner for re-election to the Pine Level town board. Pittman has served three terms as mayor and 10 terms on the Board of Commissioners. He is a retired public school teacher.

Benson Mayor Jerry Medlin filed for a second term. He is retired.

Kenly Mayor Bonnie Williamson filed for a second term. Before becoming mayor, Williamson served on the town council. She is the dealer registration coordinator for Manheim North Carolina in Kenly.

Archer Lodge Councilman Mark Jackson filed to seek a second term on the town council. He’s retired from the U.S. Army.

Challenger Jeffery Franks wants a seat on the Four Oaks Board of Commissioners. He’s in the hospitality business. There are three seats up for re-election.

Princeton Mayor Pro-tem Walter Martin Jr. filed for a fifth term on the Princeton Board of Commissioners. He was first elected in 1999. Martin is a private investigator and owner of Truth Investigations in Princeton. He is also a retired Smithfield police detective. There are three seats up for re-election on the board held by Martin, Mike Rose and Scottie Brown, who’s filling the remainder of Larry Withrow’s unexpired term.

Jason Thompson filed for a third term on the Clayton Town Council. He was first elected in 2011. He is the chief of operations and director of Samaritan Ambulance Service in Smithfield. There are two seats open, the one held by Thompson and Councilman Robert Satterfield.

On Monday morning, Princeton Mayor Don Rains filed to run for re-election, seeking his ninth term; Selma Town Councilman Tommy Holmes filed to run for his third term and

Pine Level Mayor Jeff Holt filed for re-election. A full list of Monday filings was unavailable due to the Johnstonian News’ press deadline.

Filing ends at noon Friday, July 19. Candidates must file at the Johnston County Board of Elections office, 205 S. Second St., Smithfield. The office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekdays. For more information, call 919-989-5095.

The voter registration deadline is Oct. 11 and one-stop early voting begins on Oct. 16 and ends Nov. 2. The last day to request an absentee ballot by mail is Oct. 29.