Serving Kenly, Selma, Smithfield, Princeton & Pine Level since 1973

Johnston County races: four incumbents lose

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


SMITHFIELD-Two incumbent Selma councilmen,  one Clayton and one Wilson's Mills councilmam lost re-election amid a light turnout for the Nov. 5 municipal election.

According to the state board of elections office, 9.5 percent or 3,376 out of 35,552 Johnston County eligible voters went to the polls.  

In Selma, Mayor Cheryl Oliver won handily over former Councilman William Overby, 317-141 votes, with two write-in votes. Councilmen William Petersen and Tommy Holmes were both ousted by challengers. 

The new councilmen are Byron McAllister and Joe Scarboro. The totals were : McAllister, 309 votes and Scarboro, 201 votes. The remaining vote getters were: Petersen, 168 votes; Holmes, 87 votes and challenger Roger Diegele, 54 votes. There was one write-in vote.

In Clayton, an $18 million parks and recreation bond won by a wide margin, 864 to 299 votes. Mayor Jody McLeod won another term with 961 votes. There were 36 write-in votes against him. In a race for two open council seats, incumbent Bob Satterfield lost by 59 votes. The winners were: challenger Avery Everett, 660 votes and incumbent Jason Thompson, 602 votes.

In Wilson's Mills, there were five candidates seeking two town council seats. The winners were challenger Carolyn Dobbins, 96 votes and Mayor Pro-tem J.C. Triplett, 58 votes. The other candidates were: Incumbent Johnny Eason, 40 votes and challenger Fleta Byrd, 38 votes.

In other races: In Archer Lodge, incumbents faced no opposition. Mayor Matt Mulhollem received 57 votes. Three councilmen were re-elected: Clyde Castleberry, 53 votes, Mark Jackson, 51 votes and James Purvis, 47 votes.

In Benson, Mayor Jerry Medlin was re-elected with 222 votes. There were nine write-in votes. In the commission races, incumbent District 1 Commissioner Cassandra Stack received 51 votes, unopposed; District 2 Commissioner Curtis McLamb got 60 votes. There were five write-in votes. In District 3, Commissioner Max Raynor garnered 102 votes with four write-in votes against him.

In Four Oaks, four town commissioners were re-elected without opposition.  They were: Andy Hardy, 192 votes; Carles Surles, 189 votes; Vic Medlin, 184 votes and Walt Rabon, 68 votes. There were seven write-in votes.

In Kenly, Mayor Bonnie Williamson received 105 votes. There were five write-in votes against her. Four council members won re-election. LaWanda Neal, 76 votes; Keith Davis, 72 votes; Bobby Peale, 67 votes and Page Redmon, 35 votes. There were four write-in votes. 

In Micro, the mayor and three councilmen won re-election without opposition. Mayor Jay Warren received 27 votes. Councilman Russell Creech won 27 votes and Councilmen Jay Langston and Kevin Worley received 26 votes each.

In Pine Level, Mayor Jeff Holt and four town commissioners won re-election. Holt got 70 votes; there were three write-in votes against him. In the commission races, Greg Baker, 55 votes; Jimmy Garner, 53 votes and Phil Pittman and Bill Radford each got 52 votes. There were 18 write-in votes in opposition.

Princeton Mayor Don Rains, without opposition, won another term in office. He received 56 votes. Three town commissioners won re-election without opposition. Mayor Pro-tem Walter Martin Jr., 57 votes; Scottie Brown, 47 votes and Mike Rose, 37 votes.

In Smithfield, Mayor Andy Moore won another term with 619 votes. There were 23 write-in votes.

In the Smithfield council race, three at-large seats were up for re-election. The incumbent winners were: John Dunn, 449 votes; Stephen Rabil, 400 votes and Roger Allen Wood, 384 votes. Challenger Jim Snyder received 323 votes.