Serving Kenly, Selma, Smithfield, Princeton & Pine Level since 1973

Kirby named Kiwanian of the Year; new officers installed, awards presented

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


KENLY — Diane Kirby was named Kiwanian of the Year during the Kenly Kiwanis Club’s annual banquet on Oct. 11.

Kirby was recognized for her leadership in providing programs for the club each week.

Monica Davis, Kenly Area Chamber of Commerce executive director, was inducted into the club.

Club officers were installed by past Lt. Gov. Dr. Scott Turik. Officers are Al Faber, president; Ted Godwin, vice president; Don Boyette, secretary-treasurer; and directors George Arant, Chris Coates, Diane Kirty, Rick Stewart and Turik.

The club’s annual J. Burke Long Scholarship at Johnston Community College was awarded to Asly Cerrato Ayala and the Ray Boyette Scholarship was awarded to Justin Phillips.

The annual banquet was held at Lowell Mill restaurant with about 25 members and guests in attendance.